62nd Annual Safety Awards Brunch

Lakeside Industries


Spread the love

On the morning of March 4th, 2023, Lakeside Industries held our 62nd Annual Awards Brunch at the Temple .

Theater in Tacoma, WA. This is an event that our employees, families, and friends look forward to attending year after year, gathering current and former employees. The Safety Awards Brunch is an event full of celebration, recognition, and fellowship. Due to the pandemic, the last in-person Brunch was held in 2019 and has been postponed since. This break in being able to gather and celebrate our collective accomplishments made the 2023 Brunch that much more special. It attracted one of the biggest crowds in Lakeside history, with over 350 people in attendance! We are so grateful to have such a supportive and thriving community here at Lakeside.

The Awards Brunch was MC’d by Johnny Escobedo, Project Manager from our Vancouver Division, who did a great job announcing all the awards won by our people and divisions. We had the opportunity to recognize many employees for reaching career milestones such as No Time Loss Awards, Longevity Awards, and retirements.

Combined, our retirees had over 381 years of service with Lakeside! Congratulations to these Lakeside employees on their retirements and for their fruitful careers here at Lakeside:

  • Bill Dempsey
  • Scott Blouin
  • Jim Dato
  • Kim Grizzle
  • Dean LaCroix
  • Robert Monroe
  • Michael Sutherby
  • James Soderberg
  • Greg Fisher
  • Jack Mendoza
  • Carleton Strong
  • Sherry Zollars
  • Mark Bosler
  • John Escobedo
  • Leigh Chase
  • Dave Maiden
  • Mark Turner
  • Gary Swanson
  • Terry Butler
  • John Wakefield
  • Scott Hamilton

We also had the opportunity to recognize divisions who won paving awards during the 2022 paving season. These awards include:

Bayview Asphalt:

Special Small Residential Project Category – Asphalt Paving Association of Oregon: Scott Dawson Driveway in Nehalem

Longview Division:

2022 Innovative / Special Use (Heavy Industrial Pavement with CTB/HMA) – Washington Asphalt Pavement Association: NW Metals/Aquarius Environmental Metals Recycling Yard Pavement – JH Kelly

Monroe Division:

2022 Partnership for Excellence in Contract Administration – Honorable Mention: Western Washington Project Greater than $10,000,000 – I-405 & SR 92 – SR a 528 / I-5 VIC and SR 9 VIC Paving and ADA Compliance

Portland Division:

PRIDE Award – Associated General Contractors of Oregon

Special Project Category – Oregon Asphalt Pavement Association: Portland International Airport – Taxiway Rehabilitation – Exit B4 to B5

Vancouver Division:

Seaport / Intermodal Award – Washington Asphalt Pavement Association: Terminal 3 Paving at Port of Vancouver

2021 Perpetual Pavement Award by Design – Washington Asphalt Pavement Association: SR 502 (MP 0.85 to MP 5.10) area of widening westbound lanes in Clark County

Thank you to all of those who continually support the company and who work so hard to make Lakeside a truly special place. We look forward to next year’s brunch and celebrating all together once again!

Leave a comment